Mystery Gift Box #051 | The 709,560-Hour Game

The best hidden gems I've found; interesting ideas and concepts, thought-provoking questions, mind-blowing books/podcasts, cool animes/films, and other mysteries ❤️

Hey friends,

Took a 2-month break from the newsletter as I am in the phase of transitioning from one big chapter to another; wrapping up my PhD, started a new job as a lead data scientist, planning the future, trips, relationships, etc.

Including this week’s newsletter, it has been “51 weeks” since I started the Mystery Gift Box series. It’s longer than 51 weeks as I missed weeks here and there but let’s go with 51 weeks haha And so the next Mystery Gift Box newsletter would be the final one, closing the “year long” series with Mystery Gift Box #052.

I am currently in the process of coming up with new ideas on where I should take this newsletter and what I want to write more about moving forward. This is part of the “planning the future” that I have been doing 😈 If you guys have any good ideas, reach out as I will be happy to hear them :)

Speaking of planning the future, one thing that keeps popping up is what do I want to prioritise over the next few years. More on that in the next Mystery Gift Box newsletter but here’s a reminder of prioritising what matters with this week’s newsletter ❤️

🧠 Prioritise what truly matters

After watching the Netflix series: Life On Our Planet, it really put things into perspective of how insignificant we are… and how often we overvalue the things that happen in our everyday lives.

In our finite time on earth, we would love to live a happy and fulfilling life. The question is how…

I strongly believe that this is the question that we should all be striving towards answering and constantly reviewing the answers as we discover more of ourselves. Now there are many ways to do this; a top-down approach like The Odyssey Plan (more on this in future newsletter) and / or the bottom-up approach of tasting different things and collecting information on what you like and dislike.

My favourite way is to see life as a game (lifestyle gamification).

If life is a game…

And you have been given 709,560 hours (based on 81-year life expectancy) to play with…

What would you do with it such that you are happy and fulfill? And that you lost track of time?

For me…

Two big areas I have gathered so far that makes me happy and excited, whether that be my past, present, and future.

  1. Building my family (Relationships)

  2. Hypergrowth

👀 What’s yours?

⛰ 4-4-4 Exploration Project

Each month, I would explore one new thing; a skill, a subject, or an experience.

January 2023: Writing and Storytelling (Subject) ✅

February 2023: KURIOS – Cabinet of Curiosities (Cirque Du Soleil — Experience) ✅

March 2023: 28 Days of Cold Exposure (Subject and Experience) ✅

April 2023: Complete Growth / Product Marketing Course (Subject) 🟥

May 2023: LL project (Skill + Subject) ✅

June 2023: LL project 2 (Skill + Subject) ✅

July 2023: LL project 3 (Skill + Subject) ✅

August 2023: LL project 4 (Skill + Subject) ✅

September 2023: LL project 5 (Skill + Subject) ✅

October 2023: LL project 6 (Skill + Subject) ✅

November 2023: Travelled to Lisbon for the Web Summit and Holiday ✅

📚 This week, I finished reading…

Few books in progress… 🤓

Have interesting gems you want to share with me and others? Share it by replying to this email and I will include it in the next gift box :)

With love,

Ryan O. 🎮

😈 Connect with me on:

🎬 YouTube, 🐦 Twitter, 👨🏻‍💻 LinkedIn, 🌍 Personal Website, and 📸 Instagram